April 26 – Silver Tunes by Erlund von Koch

Erlund von Koch was born on this day in Sweden in 1910.  He worked in several capacities as a musician:  composer of both concert and film music, professor, sound engineer and choir master. This piece, Silver Tunes, is in four movements that reference times of day: Dawn, Sun Dance, Twilight and Night Winds.  Von Koch composed every day, even into his 90’s, and his motto was to “keep the melody” – the beautiful melodies are written in ranges of the flute that allow them to sing easily, making these little pieces so satisfying to play!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s